Hello Again!

A few weekends ago, for the first time this year, the receding snow line, the weather, and my schedule aligned–I made it to the Olympic Peninsula to spend some days and nights out on a trail. Among many things during this outing, I did some thinking about this site and blogging in general.

IMG_6931
Junction to Five Mile Island, Hoh River Trail

This blog has crossed my mind every now and then over the past six months. In February I decided to renew the domain name, though I didn’t really have a plan to keep it up. Originally, it was just a solution to keeping friends and family informed on Louise and my PCT journey. It certainly served that purpose, but it was also surprisingly rewarding.

When I started the blog last spring, I was counting on its enjoyment by family and friends to affirm the effort I was making. But I was surprised to find out that plenty of people, who I didn’t know well or didn’t know at all, were reading and presumably getting something out of my posts.  I realized for anyone who does not have the proximity, gear, knowledge, health, and lack of life obligations to get outside so easily, I could provide a window into an experience they might not get to have often or ever. Besides that, I know from experience that posts like these can provide inspiration and useful info for others planning outdoor escapes. Now, when I’m out in the wild, I feel inclined to soak it all in not just for myself, but for a handful of strangers and friends back in the connected world. I find myself not just enjoying a hike but thinking about how I would describe it to others.

I guess this is all to say that whoever you are, I was thinking about you the other weekend. And even though I wasn’t on some grand journey like last summer, I began to consider that you might still like to hear about the sun shining in the rainforest and see a picture of morning sunbeams burning steam off a moss-covered log. And I decided that I will re-purpose weezemorghike to be about me (or Weezie if she wants in) hiking any trail, not just the PCT. So, stay tuned. Pretty soon I’ll have a post up about my recent hike on the Hoh River Trail.

IMG_6768

4 thoughts on “Hello Again!”

  1. Yay, Morgan ! I will be reading your words ! Enjoyed them so much from out in the world of electricity , running water , Trader Joe’s , haircuts, pedicures , spin classes , washing machines and dryers ,and connectedness in general ! It’s all good … love you !

    Like

  2. Welcome back, Morgan! I will look forward to more posts about your outdoor travels, near and far. Love, Aunt Fran

    Like

  3. What a nice surprise to hear from you again, Morgan! I love your plan for future blogs and look forward to ‘trail traveling’ with you through your words and photos!
    Love and hugs,
    Aunt Anne

    Like

Leave a comment